Share this story

 | Miscellany Staff Reports

New Spiritual Directors Commissioned

On Oct. 29, Bishop Jacques Fabre-Jeune, CS, presided at Mass to commission 12 newly certified spiritual directors. It was held at the Chapel of the Holy Family in Charleston. The diocese partners with Spring Hill College in Mobile, Alabama, for classes. Jesuit Father Christopher Viscardi, chair of theology and director of the Spiritual Direction Program at Spring Hill, concelebrated and commissioned the men and women. Franciscan Sister Kathleen Adamski, sponsor of these spiritual directors, hosted a dinner afterward.

This two-year, graduate level certification program is designed for clergy, religious and laypersons. It is for those who seek a deeper grounding in the ministry of spiritual direction and personal formation in Ignatian spirituality.

This graduation class, plus the 2020 graduates, has added 20 spiritual directors to the diocese. A third cohort began this past September.

The 2022 graduates include Deacon Nestor Acosta, Michelle Chin, Deidre Cooper, Deacon Joseph Dennis, Sarah Fellona, Cynthia Kelly, Deacon Charles LaRosa, Deacon James Letendre, Paula Loehr, Madeline Mauro, Peggy McGregor, Katharine Murphy and Donna Tomasini.

Deacon Tom Whalen serves as the liaison for the program in the Diocese of Charleston. For inquiries about spiritual direction formation, please contact Deacon Tom at